Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

Redman Covers the Sunday New York Times

Redman made the cover (ok, front page) of the Sunday New York Times (July 3). Not because of his talents as a rapper (that would have been epic). Not because he was latest rapper to commit some asinine crime (see: too many asinine rappers to name).

The criminally underrated Reggie Noble made the cover of the Grey Lady because has to go to PA to get fireworks for him and his kids, since NJ is one state where they are still banned, and thus loses out on tax revenue. [Spotted at my fron’t door and Rap Radar]

Said Mr. Noble:

“My father took me to buy fireworks, and now I’m doing it for my kids,” said Reggie Noble, who was filling his cart with fireworks at the Phantom Fireworks in Easton one day this week. Mr. Noble, 41, who is better known as the rap artist Redman, said it did not make much sense that he cannot buy fireworks in New Jersey, where he lives.

“I can see the dangers they are trying to prevent, but it’s still happening,” he said. “I vote that they should lift it up.”

Yes, I subscribe to the Sunday Times; it means I don’t have to be troubled by their online firewall. Get this, I still subscribe to magazines, too.

All this also means that I have a reason to post the video for Redman’s “Can’t Wait.”

July 3, 2011 - Posted by | Freshness, Hip-Hop, Music, News | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Seeing Redman on the cover of the Sunday NY Times just seriously made my day. Makes me want to buy a ton of fireworks to set off while listening to Whut? Thee Album, Dare iz a Darkside and Muddy Waters.

    Comment by R. MacBride | July 3, 2011


Leave a comment