Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

VIDEO: Freddie Gibbs “The Ghetto (Uncensored)”

A lot of ni**as over there at Interscope, I ain’t going to say no names, them executive ni**as, they said that my sh*t wasn’t even relevant no more. They said gangsta rap wasn’t going to be relevant, and we don’t need to push this s**t; we ain’t going to push Gibbs, we going to push Jibbs. They used to piss me off man. Ni**as in the building used to get me confused with that little ni**a Jibbs. I’m like, Nah ni**a I’m Freddie Gibbs, I’m not Jibbs, you got me f**ked up.“—Freddie Gibbs

Got to interview Gary, Indiana’s Freddie Gibbs for a Next story in the April/May 2010 issue of Vibe Magazine. The above quote didn’t make the cut, but it is hilarious, and tragic. Tough to says Gibbs’ take on gangsta rap isn’t relevant since he can actually put together words that fit and places some real thought behind his verses. As heard/seen in the above video for “The Ghetto.”

Surely having a similar name to Jibbs isn’t the sole reason Interscope decided to let go of his services, but it’s still a fail. Video for “Womb 2 the Tomb,” featuring Pill, below.

May 11, 2010 - Posted by | Freshness, Hip-Hop, Music, News | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alvin aqua Blanco. Alvin aqua Blanco said: "I’m like, Nah ni**a I’m Freddie Gibbs, I’m not Jibbs, you got me f**ked up." | VIDEO: Freddie Gibbs "The Ghetto": http://wp.me/pqNkF-xH […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention VIDEO: Freddie Gibbs “The Ghetto (Uncensored)” « Slang Rap Democracy -- Topsy.com | May 11, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

