Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

Back Again: Air Jordan III Retro White/Cement Grey

Air Jordan 3

I was in the 6th grade, standing at the bus stop on the corner of 174th Street & Longfellow Ave., waiting for the BX36 to take me from my South Bronx hood to what was then CS 102 in Parkchester.

It was while waiting for that sure to be too crowded bus in the a..m. where I saw a high school aged dude with a high-top fade rocking the above kicks; Air Jordan IIIs. At that point in time I had no clue what the shoes were. They were bright white, with illy snakeskin—no Nike check, but aha…the Air bubble. Those had to be the latest Js.

Seeing Kid ‘N Play rock them in their “Gettin’ Funky” video on Video Music Box (below), and Mars Blackmon (above), made me fiend for a pair just as much as Michael Jordan’s feats on the basketball court. But being that I wasn’t anywhere near a child of privilege, I didn’t even bother asking mom dukes for a pair. Knowing they were a buck ($100) plus at retail, i had to make due with my lo-top Air Trainers (about 60 to 70 beans at Dr. Jays on 3rd Ave, sale).

When the Air Jordan III’s get a retro-release sometime this year—Nice Kicks says they’ll be part of a Slam Dunk pack (MJ won the ’88 Slam Dunk contest in them)—they will get copped (two pairs), off g.p.

January 29, 2010 - Posted by | Basketball, Fresh Dipped, Freshness, Hip-Hop, Kicks, News, The Boogie | , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. [...] Back Again: Air Jordan III Retro White/Cement Grey Share and [...]

    Pingback by Back Again: Air Jordan III Retro White/Cement Grey | HipHopSeason.com | January 29, 2010

  2. Looking forward to these! This and the Air Max 90

    http://www.ruggedsole.com

    Comment by Rugged Sole | January 29, 2010

  3. Yo I hate the fact that JB is retro’ing EVERY fuckin sneaker I have. Oh yeah and those Dr. Jay sales on 3rd Ave in the BX were REAL! Lol

    Comment by BK Cyph | January 30, 2010

  4. Yeah, you can’t even put anything on “freeze” because when you’re ready to break them out and stunt on cats, the re-re-re-re-re-retro is in stores anyway. Still copping these, though. Ha!

    Comment by aqua | January 30, 2010

  5. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alvin aqua Blanco, Alvin aqua Blanco. Alvin aqua Blanco said: Back Again: Air Jordan III Retro White/Cement Grey: http://wp.me/pqNkF-pS #ThatsWhatsUp [...]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention Back Again: Air Jordan III Retro White/Cement Grey « Slang Rap Democracy -- Topsy.com | January 30, 2010

  6. I remember when these were retroed about 7 years ago. I thought they were tough but I wasn’t fiend out. The true blue’s and the classic black/cement ones I crave for. I also think folks slept on the mochas.

    Comment by Rugged Sole | March 19, 2010

  7. [...] have been reissued in recent years) are included. Now Nike needs to stop playing and deliver those Air Jordan IIIs back to stores as [...]

    Pingback by Vintage Nike Sneaker Ads « Slang Rap Democracy | August 25, 2010

  8. [...] was thirsting for these beauties all of 2010 (see here) and which I sincerely believe are the perfect sneaker (like I said here). But before standing [...]

    Pingback by Air Jordan III – Early! « Antenna Magazine | January 20, 2011

  9. Great website. A lot of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks on your sweat!

    Comment by Philadelphia Real Estate | July 11, 2013

  10. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I
    must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good
    web hosting provider at a fair price? Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    Comment by article about health | July 14, 2013


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

