Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

Harlem World in the 80′s

 

I moved to Harlem in 2001 and my how my block has changed. My little corridor of “Upper Manhattan” (near 145th & Bradhurst–which going East is after Edgecombe but before Frederick Douglass Blvd, everyone asks) used to be pretty barren. When I first told people the locale of my new digs (the 2 bedroom rental I had was then $900, hate me) many a times the response I received was something along the lines of, “Oh word? I used to cop weed from around there…”

Flash forward to 2009 and gentrification is in full swing. A Starbucks on 145th & Bradhurst pretty much sealed the deal. But really, the big difference for me is the parking. When I first moved in, no matter what time of the day or night, I would ALWAYS find a spot. But thanks to new developments like The Sutton, The Hamilton and The Langston, parking has become a true beeyotch; unless you’re fortunate enough, or able to afford, your own parking space in a garage.

Watching the above clip only highlights how quickly (20 years is nothing in the grand scheme of things) a community can change. The morale of the story; if you live in the ‘hood and can manage to  buy your home, do it. There is no greater investment. [Spotted at Uptown Flavor]

Below Cam’Ron and Mase run around Uptown…

May 19, 2009 - Posted by | Freshness, Harlem, Hip-Hop, News | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. >>“Oh word? I used to cop weed from around there…”

    ^word, Bradhurst had that piffery in the 90′s. lol

    Comment by eskay | May 19, 2009

  2. Word! They shot parts of 357 on the roof of a friend of mine’s brownstone. Dope blog by the way.

    Comment by james | May 27, 2009

  3. bradhusrt was like “hamsterdam” on the wire!! gotta love the gentrification!

    Comment by true story | May 28, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

