Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

Charles Hamilton X Rap Radar (Video)

Any rapper that said anything derogatory about me or my “movement” or whatever I do; any journalist, any website, anyone is a small irrelevant piece of litter on this huge ass microcosm that I like to call my reality. And my reality tells me that my reality isn’t wrong.”—Charles Hamilton

Oh, it gets better. The hyperbole Mr. Hamilton drops in this vid courtesy of YN is on atomic levels. Kiss my natural pink ass? Really? He has the people on his side. Show me love, I show you love back. Yadda yadda yadda.

I got no qualms about saying I’m not convinced about this cat. The whole pink and Sonic thing reeks of gimmickry and the music hasn’t made me take notice beyond any of the marketing. And never mind the use of the term “huge ass microcosm.” Hey, “If I don’t like it I don’t like it, that don’t mean that I’m hatin’,” to quote Lonnie Rashid Lynn. [via Rap Radar]

RELATED

Rhymefest No Like Hamilton [via Karen Civil]

March 23, 2009 - Posted by | Beef, Hip-Hop, News | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I don’t see what is so special about Charles Hamilton. Aside from the reasons stated above (sonic & pink), he can’t even hold his own in a freestyle. Asher Roth could flow better & tighter than that twerp. smh… FAIL.

    Comment by Marvelous Mo | March 23, 2009

  2. Yeah, the weird, disheveled, headphone rockin’ thing reminds of Del– except I liked Del. This kid has an interesting story but I haven’t heard anything from him that makes me care enough to consider purchasing a record from him. Don’t get me wrong, I do think he can rhyme and does some interesting things production-wise (see: the song where he flipped the Windows start-up music) but I can’t really see myself buying a copy of his record and in the age of free everything that’s the real test of how compelling an artist is.

    Comment by Timmhotep | March 23, 2009

  3. I thought Charles Hamilton was an R&B singer…? It’s something about this young buck’s disrespectful demeanor that turns me off. Soldier Boy was an easy target, but Fest and Jones…? Not really seeing nothing new either. The quirky headphone rockin’ backpacker thing has been done ad infinitum… Ditto for the pink polos…

    Comment by PJ | March 25, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

