Slang Rap Democracy

Bringing you all the freshness fit to link.

Gumsole Beatdowns#1: Notorious B.I.G. X Al Green

I'm surprised you run with them...

I'm surprised you run with them...

stillinlovealgreenWhile the late Christopher Wallace’s flow was elastic enough to get busy over any groove, rocking over a flip of Al Green’s “I’m Glad You’re Mine” was so nice that B.I.G. did it twice on “I Got a Story to Tell” from Life After Death and “Dead Wrong” from the posthumous Born Again. The Al Green album, I’m Still in Love with You, that said sample originates from was released in 1972; yep, the same year Biggie was born. The heisted audio (you can listen to it below, but do yourself a favor and buy the entire album because it is vintage, baby-making music) isn’t too long—a sick rimshot that’s a couple of bars long, tops—but many a producer has gotten a good run from it. Here is Biggie’s double dose (not including “What’s Beef?”) as well as a few choice others handy for spreadin’ [Hip-Hop] love, the Brooklyn way. R.I.P. B.I.G.

Al Green “I’m Glad You’re Mine”

Notorious B.I.G. “I Got a Story to Tell”

An album cut that nevertheless gets heavy burn, “I Got A Story Tell” displays B.I.G.’s storytelling ability. Produced by DITC’s Buckwild with co-production credited to Chucky Thompson & Diddy [Note: find out what Buckwild thinks of that], the Rev Green’s drums are the tracks foundation as B.I.G. recounts a tale of infidelity turned to robbery.

Notorious B.I.G. “Dead Wrong” f/ Eminem

The lead single to B.I.G.’s Born Again album was produced by Chucky Thompson, Mario Winans & Diddy (guess they liked what Buckwild did with “I Got a Story to Tell”) and makes that illy rimshot a counterpoint to grizzly drums. The result is a greasy and booming tracks that makes B.I.G. dropping un-PC quotables like “japped her then I asked her who’s the man she said B.I.G., then I bust in here E.Y.E.,” almost acceptable. No Chris Brown.

BONUS BEATS

MC Lyte “Paper Thin”

This beat was so sick that on the Lyte As a Rock album that it appeared on you got to hear the entire instrumental run through after your favorite female MCs last verse. (Shout out to Big Ced.)


Eric B & Rakim “Mahogany”

It’s the R, and Eric. B, coolin’ at the Palladium (Note: I remember in the late 90’s seeing Jay-Z, rocking a du-rag, kick “22 Twos” in that infamous NYC nightclub. Mic Geronimo may have been the headliner. Times change, it’s now an NYU dorm). “Mahogany” is a winner from the Let the Rhythm Hit ‘Em album and jacks Al Green’s track wholesale.


MORE BIG

Machine Gun Funk: Producers Remember B.I.G. [via Nod Factor]

A Dead B.I.G. is Better Than a Living Weezy! [via The Urban Daily]

Think Big [via XXLmag.com]

The Day Biggie Died (Rest in Peace/Live in War) [via Naked With Socks On]

Today Marks The 12th Anniversary of B.I.G.’s Death [via Real Talk NY]

DJ Drama & Cookin Soul Present: The Notorious BIG Tribute (Mixtape) [via Nah Right]

Big Don’t Fold [via Cocaine Blunts]

Wig Out (Puff Daddy) [via Rap Radar]

“Life After Death” The Mixtape Movie [via Notes from a Different Kitchen]

We’ll Always Love Big Poppa [via Combat Jack]

March 9, 2009 - Posted by | Gumsole Beatdowns, Hip-Hop | , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. niiiiiice.

    Comment by Aliya S. King | March 9, 2009

  2. wow…this brings back memories of being a Scratch staff member…I likes

    Comment by JesusTalks | March 9, 2009

  3. Jeez

    I do believe this man is FOCUSED!

    flawless victory Aqua.

    Brook

    Comment by brook | March 10, 2009

  4. Wasn’t “I Got a Story To Tell” a single?

    No video, but the 12″ was serviced…

    Comment by Skratch Bastid | March 10, 2009

  5. @ Skratch yeah, the 12″ was definitely serviced but it was never pushed as a single. I gotta double check but I don’t even think the wax had a radio version on it.

    Comment by aqua | March 10, 2009

  6. […] Gumsole Beatdowns #1: Notorious B.I.G. X Al Green […]

    Pingback by Gumsole Beatdowns #2: Kool & The Gang X Spinna & Premier « Slang Rap Democracy | April 14, 2009

  7. Dude… cool article, but you forgot about WHAT’S BEEF

    Comment by elevated | May 4, 2009

  8. Either deaf, or not a real BIG fan (excuse the pun)

    Comment by elevated | May 4, 2009

  9. @ elevated: easy homie. i didn’t want to OD on all the free music. figured on song per album was enough. but good catch nevertheless.

    Comment by aqua | May 4, 2009


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

